New Year, New Pieces


I love making jewellery for people. I love getting orders on Etsy, or Facebook, or through people I know, because it makes me feel like people like what I make as much as I do. But what I like most of all, is making something new. 

Now don’t get me wrong, a lot of love still goes into my 30th Russian Wedding Ring, but I love creating designs for the first time. You never know, from start to finish what is actually going to happen.

The dangly earrings pictured above started off as a ring, which I totally screwed up. I set the tension too high in my rolling mill and curved the metal beyond a point that I could fix it. I was so mad looking a the curved piece of silver that I cut it up into little pieces and then realized that the pieces would be pretty cool as earrings.

I made this ring the same night. Generally, in my shop, I’ll have at least 5 projects on the go at one time. After soldering something, you have to clean it by letting it sit for a few minutes in a crock pot full of what’s called “pickle.” So after every solder join, there are a few minutes to fill, so I usually jump from project to project until before I know it, it’s 2 or 3am. Oops!

Gold Spinner Ring2

I love how this ring turned out. I was so torn about whether or not I should oxidize (blacken) the ring or leave it bright and shiny. I think I made the right decision. I love how the 14K gold contrasts with the black lace pattern on the ring.

The spinner on this ring is yellow gold, and I ordered a piece of rose gold in my last order too. I have about a thousand ideas of what I could do with it, just trying to decide which one to go with. Sometimes that’s the hardest part of designing.

Leave a Reply

