How to Make a Russian Wedding Ring

IMG_0181

This Russian Wedding Ring is by far the most popular item in my Etsy Shop, so I thought I’d show how it’s made!

First, I choose the wire. This ring is made using 12 gauge, half round, sterling silver wire.

IMG_0414

Then I measure the three pieces of wire that will form the ring with calipers. I measure one size larger than I will actually need because intertwining the rings will make it tighter. The calipers leave a faint mark on the metal, showing me where to cut with my jeweller’s saw.

IMG_0416

The next step is to bend the wire for each ring around using a pair of half round pliers. Half round pliers have one flat side and one rounded side – perfect for forming the inside of rings.

IMG_0395

Then I place each ring in my third hand and flux and solder their seams.

IMG_0397

The rings are then hammered into round rings using a ring mandrel.

IMG_0400-0

The next step I take may seem like backtracking. I actually cut two of the rings back open and re-solder them after intertwining them together. I do this because I find the rings turn out nicer when you make the three rings perfectly round before intertwining. It’s much more difficult to obtain the perfectly round rings once they’re all soldered together.

IMG_0404

IMG_0406

Now that all three rings are connected, I double check the size…

IMG_0412

…file and sand the ring smooth…

IMG_0413

…throw it in the tumbler with a little bit of dish soap, and in a couple of hours I’ll have a gorgeous Russian Wedding Ring!

IMG_0417

Leave a Reply

